Destinations
Top destinations of the moment in Europe
Trip Types
  • Travel Style
  • Interests and Activities
  • Tour Ideas by Month
  • Continents and Regions
An update from Evaneos

Trip review
Iceland

Shiveringforsixty
Shiveringforsixty
loved their trip to Iceland

A group of 10 went with me to Iceland to celebrate my birthday. I wanted a local agent since I didn't know much about Iceland, and wanted someone that could give me honest opinions with first hand knowledge. I was very happy with the service I received from both Nika and Gunnar (with the exception of the Whale watching). The places they recommended were great, and they were very responsive. I loved the incredible natural beauty - although I could have done without the extreme wind we encountered for a few days.
Trip Details
Traveled
In group
Travel dates
October 18, 2019
Trip type
Luxury

Trip customized with a local travel agent in the destination

Shiveringforsixty
Shiveringforsixty
October 27, 2019
Best parts:
The natural beauty - especially the Aurora! With few exceptions, the people we interacted with were great.
Worst parts:
The whale watching. If we had been told ahead of time that this wasn't a very good time (most whales have left the area according to the crew) we wouldn't have spent that money. Also, the weather that day was very rough. More than 1/2 the people spent the time vomiting, it was not pleasant for the rest of us. The excursion shouldn't have left the harbor. We felt that it was a case of money over experience. Perhaps the local agents could do a better job setting realistic expectations for activities.
Gunnar
Agency's response
Gunnar
Thank you very much for your positive feedback, and helpful comments. It´s really pleasing to read that you had such a great time in Iceland, and your pictures are absolutely great. Looks like you had...Thank you very much for your positive feedback, and helpful comments. It´s really pleasing to read that you had such a great time in Iceland, and your pictures are absolutely great. Looks like you had quite the adventure :) I´m sorry to read about your experiences with the whale watching excursions, and it´s something we will take to heart. You make a valid point about that perhaps the tour should not have departed the harbour, and obviously being sick on a boat is a lousy experience. We will discuss internally and with the operator about this offering. Me and Nika are happy that you enjoyed the tour, and that we could be of help while you were in Iceland, and we hope to see you again here one day, perhaps enjoying the midnght sun :) All the best, GunnarSee more
Experience added!
You can add more experiences to your trip itinerary before sending it to a local agency
View my trip itinerary