Carbon Neutral 100%
Top destinations of the moment in Africa
Trip Types
  • Travel Style
  • Interests and Activities
  • Tour Ideas by Month
  • Continents and Regions
An update from Evaneos

Trip review

was disappointed by their trip to Namibia

I booked 3 nights’ hotel, transfers, & a camping trip through the local agency. Although all the things happened as planned, there were lots of errors in the planning stage like incorrect dates on the billing link and incomplete info on the lodging. Everything was corrected, but these examples illustrate a lack of attention to detail that was concerning. I never received an itemized receipt. Based on my estimate of lodging costs, I feel the price was excessive without any value to me since the planning process wasn’t streamlined. A travel agent can bring value to & receive loyalty from a customer by trying to get good pricing on the components, which wasn’t the case here. Once we started the camping trip, we had several hours wasted because a client was left in the origin city, & they wanted to drive the entire group back to get him. This demonstrated to me that the local agency is a disorganized mess without the ability to solve problems reasonably. After about an hour, they decided to send him to meet us, but they wasted all of our time due to a clerical error on their end. The rest of the camping trip went smoothly, but the agency messed up details for many of the other participants.
Trip Details
Travel dates
February 20, 2019
Trip type

Trip customized with a local travel agent in the destination

February 27, 2019
Best parts:
The Namib Desert
Worst parts:
Heat, disorganization, and camping.
Agency's response
Dear Swati Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent trip to Namibia. We at our local agency values all such feedback to ensure we continuously up our service sta...Dear Swati Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent trip to Namibia. We at our local agency values all such feedback to ensure we continuously up our service standards and client experiences while on tour with us. We have spoken with your dedicated consultant about the incident regarding the incorrect dates and lodgings and during the booking process there seemed to have been quite a number of changing in regards to arrival city which changed from Windhoek to Swakopmund and then also the request to change accommodation from Swakopmund to one night Swakopmund and 1 night in Walvisbay. During this process with a number of last minute changes, its possible it can great confusion between the lodgings / transfers companies. From outside we do our utmost to ensure that when booking through us, that the booking experience will be hassle free. Please accept our sincere apologies that it was not the case during your booking. To ensure you have a clear picture of the payment made, our consultant will send you a message with the cost breakdown of your trip. Due to a communication error between our office in Windhoek and the tour guide in Swakopmund the one client was not picked up in Swakopmund when the tour left for Sossusvlei. Once we were informed of the error, we arranged a transfer for him from Swakopmund to Walvisbay to meet up with the group. The timing on this was due to the fact that we first had to arrange for a driver to pick him up and the driver had to still travel the distance from Swakopmund to Walvisbay. We have been in contact with Jan as well regarding our error, and we understand that the delay due to an error on outside cause you to spend unnecessary time waiting in Walvisbay. From ourside we wish to extent our apology as well for this delay. We do our utmost to ensure that you have a positive experience with our company from booking to travelling , and at times some errors like this do happen. I sincerely hope you accept our sincerest apologies. Kind Regards LizaSee more
Experience added!
You can add more experiences to your trip itinerary before sending it to a local agency
View my trip itinerary