Destinations
Top destinations of the moment in Europe
Trip Types
  • Travel Style
  • Interests and Activities
  • Tour Ideas by Month
  • Continents and Regions
An update from Evaneos

Trip review
Iceland

Cecile
Cecile
liked their trip to Iceland

The country was stunning, and we saw northern lights, so we were still happy to go. But there are too many tourists now, even in October, and the parkings are too small to welcome them. I wouldn't recommend the destination unless the person would really want to see the landscapes.
Trip Details
Traveled
As a couple
Travel dates
October 12, 2019
Trip type
Luxury

Trip customized with a local travel agent in the destination

Cecile
Cecile
October 24, 2019
Best parts:
The Icelandair hotels were all great, it was relaxing to have the nights and breakfasts booked in advance.
Worst parts:
The Fosshotel in Nupar had a bug on our mattress so we got a better room, but my parents' one wasn't up to the comfort standard requested. I emailed our agent for an upgrade at the Fosshotel in Reykjavik as my parents had a first night in a dirty room with plastic bathroom. He said he wrote to them but they never received his email, and we had to paid extra to have correct rooms. The agent never told us the tunnel in Akureyri and the parkings at the national parks weren't free, so we got a fine. The upgrade Budget gave us for the car wasn't free either, they never told my parents and tricked us to spend more. It couldn't even hold 4 suitcases so we weren't comfortable on the road. The food was way too expensive and not good. The agent copy-pasted an itinerary we could have done ourselves just following the road, and your agency got a lot of money for little investment. We won't take Evaneos again, and won't recommend either, booking.com and maps are enough.
Lee
Agency's response
Lee
Hi Cecile, On the positive side, I am happy you liked the country, the landscape and sightseeing that Iceland is offering, and that you saw the northern lights. On the less positive side, I am sor...Hi Cecile, On the positive side, I am happy you liked the country, the landscape and sightseeing that Iceland is offering, and that you saw the northern lights. On the less positive side, I am sorry to hear you had a problem with Fosshotel Nupar and Fosshotel Baron in Reykjavik. I did contacted Fosshotel Baron Reykjavik via email and phone, and what they said was that they will offer an update according to available rooms, and that is what I also wrote to you. I'm sorry to hear they didn't follow what they said, and we will learn from this experience about working with this specific hotel in the future. I am also sorry I haven't mentioned the parking in the national parks, as there are usually large signs at the entrance that tells about that. Your itinerary was personally made for your requests and your trip, and the multi day trip part is the description of the trip by the tour operators, that is a partner company that we work with. I hope you will mostly remember the positive parts of the trip, and I am really sorry again that things didn't go as smooth as they usually go on our trips. All the best, LeeSee more
Experience added!
You can add more experiences to your trip itinerary before sending it to a local agency
View my trip itinerary