Destinations
Top destinations of the moment in Europe
Trip Types
  • Travel Style
  • Interests and Activities
  • Tour Ideas by Month
  • Continents and Regions
An update from Evaneos

Trip review
Albania

Elspeth
Elspeth
loved their trip to Albania

We were 2 couples in our 70s and not with unlimited mobility, but this tour of seven different towns with visits elsewhere in between, gave us a great introduction to the country. We saw so many places of interest - archeological sites and museums, old houses, bazaars, seaside resorts, mountains, and local Albanian historical sites. Having a kind and thoughtful guide/driver meant that we had no worries and he took away any potential stress. In my ignorance, I had expected everything to be less advanced than Greece where we live, but in fact it seems the reverse. This tour of southwestern Albania has given me the wish to explore more in this beautiful country.
Trip Details
Traveled
With friends
Travel dates
May 24, 2017
Trip type
Classic

Trip customized with a local travel agent in the destination

Elspeth
Elspeth
June 3, 2017
Best parts:
The chance to see the wonderful countryside and beautiful coastline. Staying in the fascinating old houses of Berat and Gjorokaster and exploring the bazaar areas. Visiting the Ethnographic museum in Kruje was a particular highlight, as well as visiting an old mosque and the monastery in Ardenica. Meeting so many kind and interesting Albanian people who were so anxious to give us excellent attention whether in shops, hotels or restaurants. Our excellent guide Alban who made every minute of each day so easy and enjoyable and looked after us so well. Also, he was a really brilliant driver!
Worst parts:
The sewage problem making our room in Himara smell unbearably, though hopefully this was later cured! Personally, I would have preferred the chance to see round the archeological museums without the local professional guides who, though very knowledgeable, gave me no chance of seeing the exhibits which particularly interested me. Also, we stayed in a different place each night, which on reflection, made the tour more tiring for us. However it did mean our daily traveling was less, so it's hard to know which is better!
Fiona
Agency's response
Fiona
Dear Mrs Pratt, Thank you for the commentary. It is a pleasure to read that you have had a nice trip and that you enjoyed discovering the culture and history of Albania. Our country has a traditi...Dear Mrs Pratt, Thank you for the commentary. It is a pleasure to read that you have had a nice trip and that you enjoyed discovering the culture and history of Albania. Our country has a tradition linked to the warm welcoming for the guests. It is nice that you had the chance to experience it. On the other hand, I am sorry for the inconvenience with the hotel, but we must accept that tourism in Albania is still new and developing and even though our country is now opened to foreign visitors there is still room for improvement. Albania is still a hidden jewelry in Europe, ready to impress its visitors! Your guide, Alban and me would be pleased to have you in Albania once again! Kindest regards, FionaSee more
Experience added!
You can add more experiences to your trip itinerary before sending it to a local agency
View my trip itinerary